Portfolio site or not

I have had a portfolio site for about a decade. Is it up to date? The backend is but not the content. I have the same information on my LinkedIn profile so do I really need my own site?

Pros for a portfolio site:

  • No limitations on how the content is organized (only my own imagination can limit that)
  • I can add a blog to the site and then have ownership of my digital musings
  • I have control over the look/style of the site.
  • I have a site URL that is all mine (I have already paid both the hosting and the domain).

Cons for a portfolio site:

  • Needs regular maintenance
  • Needs regular updating and curating (content)

Okay, the pros certainly outway the cons. This is another gentle nudge to get my act in gear and put some time and effort into my portfolio. I'm a front-end developer. I should be displaying my abilities.

My portfolio to-dos:

  • Set a solid deadline (June 1, 2021)
  • Schedule time blocks to add projects (1 hr a week)
  • Find a theme that is more professional

Okay, time to stop procrastinating. I've put this off for long enough!